#34 – Blown Away

By Jon Burkholder

Every now and then, something happens that just gets me. It can be something magnificent as a sunrise, or a work of art, but it can also be something as simple as the dew on my front lawn in the mornings. Or a smile from a complete stranger; maybe just a really good conversation with a friend. I can’t explain how, but certain things just connect with a part of me that nothing else can reach. It can’t be defined mathematically or postulated scientifically. It can’t be quantified, catalogued or categorized. I may not know how it works, but I know that it’s these things that blow me away.

Have you ever been blown away by something boring or uninteresting? I don’t think so. Have you been blown away by something that you didn’t want or like? Probably not. You’re blown away by things that connect with your soul. GOD knows that. It probably helps that He created your soul. And that He knows everything. His gifts are always perfect and blow me away the most.

Ephesians 1:3 tells us that GOD has blessed the believer with every spiritual blessing. Read that again. Did you catch that? Every spiritual blessing! If you are a believer, GOD has not withheld one single spiritual blessing from you.  That means things like Mercy and Grace. Things like Truth and Love. Prayer. Wisdom. I could go on and on, but the thing that these all have in common is that they are all part of the character of GOD. He is merciful; He is Love. The reason that we have every spiritual blessing is that GOD has given us Himself! He did not spare His own Son Jesus Christ, but while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. He took away our sin. That blows me away.

2 responses to “#34 – Blown Away

  1. “The reason that we have every spiritual blessing is that GOD has given us Himself!”

    I’ve recently picked up “God is the Gospel” by John Piper and am working through 1Peter chapter 3. I can’t help but be struck by this verse in conjunction with your most recent blog post as well as this book and portion of Scripture.

    1 Peter 3.18: For Christ also suffered once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring us to God…

    That’s the Gospel, right there! Eternal life, the band of brothers and sisters that is the church, freedom from sin, all these are EFFECTS of the Gospel; that is, they are what happens to us after we are brought to God through Christ!

    Love it. Love you guys (even though I don’t know Ben yet.)

    PFC Teubert, Jeremy
    “Out of the pew… into the foxhole”

  2. That is really cool that the Bible can show us itself what we really need in order for other people to know. God gives us spiritual blessings so that we are able to be effective for Jesus. Now it is up to us to use them.

Leave a comment